Labor Activist Training Classes Resume on Tuesday, September 19th

Labor Activist Training Classes Resume on Tuesday, September 19th

The Philadelphia Council AFL-CIO will again host a year-long series of labor education workshops designed to better equip labor activists and leaders to meet the challenges facing today’s labor movement. Now in its third year, the Philadelphia Labor Activist Training is co-sponsored by the Philadelphia Council AFL-CIO and the Labor School at Penn State. All local unions affiliated with the Philadelphia Council are eligible to send members to participate, as well as invited community allies. 
The curriculum consists of four comprehensive, non-credit courses designed to develop critical thinking skills and to increase capacity for building power. Instructors include faculty from Penn State’s Labor School, labor leaders, and community experts. Using a multi-union setting, the courses encourage participation and networking with other activists. Each course includes ten hours of classroom time over fours weeks. Participants should commit to attending all four sessions of each course. Each 4-week course costs $60. Participants who complete all four courses will graduate with a Certificate in Labor Studies from Penn State. 
Space is limited to 30 students — online registration is open now for Course 1 — Unions for the 21st Century: What Every Activist Should Know.

Register online to insure your spot in this course. Questions? Call Nick at the Philadelphia AFL-CIO, 215-665-9800, or email Valerie Braman, Penn State University Labor Education Coordinator, at

Unions For the 21st Century: What Every Activist Should Know
Course Dates:
Tuesday September 19, Tuesday September 26, Tuesday October 3, Tuesday October 10
Course Time & Location:
All sessions run from 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM at the Philadelphia Council, AFL-CIO
Course Description:
Since being first organized over 200 years ago, U.S. unions have been a necessary and important part of our democratic society. To remain relevant, however, unions have to adapt to a changing world and a changing workplace. Union leaders and activists need to understand the changing workforce, the changing economy, the needs and concerns of young workers, and how to actively support the development of upcoming leaders. This course will focus on the challenges faced by today’s unions and on what union leaders and union activists need to know to effectively address these challenges.

◦ Week One (9/19): How We Got Here & Current Challenges
◦ Week Two (9/26): Common Sense Economics
◦ Week Three (10/5): Engaging Young Workers
◦ Week Four (10/10): Developing Union Leaders

Register now for Unions For the 21st Century: What Every Activist Should Know!

Labor Day Celebration 2017

Labor Day Celebration 2017

Sisters and Brothers:

This year, more than ever, we need our union brothers and sisters, retirees, and union family members to come out and join other unions in celebration of Labor Day:

Date:       Monday, September 4, 2017

Location:   Sheet Metal Workers’ Local 19 Union Hall, 1301 S. Columbus Blvd. (at Washington Avenue)

Time:   8:30 a.m. meet with AFSCME District Council 47, at 9:15 a.m. is the Pre-Parade Kickoff Rally, and at 10 a.m. we march to Penns Landing for family fun activities. The event ends at 2 p.m.

This Labor Day and every day unions fight for real freedoms for working people:

  • The ability to retire with dignity
  • The time off to care for family
  • The chance to earn a decent living
  • The opportunity to see our children learning

 When working people have the freedom to join strong unions and negotiate a fair return for their work, they win the power and voice they need to level the economic and political playing field. We encourage you to join us. See you there!

In Solidarity,

Candido Silva, Jr., Organizer and PEOPLE Outreach Coordinator

DC 47 and City Negotiation Update

DC 47 and City Negotiation Update

Sisters and Brothers:

I wish to update you concerning the negotiations between the City and DC 47 and clarify an issue, in response to questions that have been raised by other members.
First of all, we will be asking for a contract extension, since we still do not have a contract and negotiations are currently at a standstill. Right now, the Union is still waiting for responses from the City for information we requested.
In terms of the process, I want to clarify that the leadership of Locals 2186 and 2187 requested several subcommittees be established, to discuss specific areas of the contract. This includes – pensions, health and welfare, policy and personnel matters. The City and DC 47 (including representatives from each local) have representatives that will meet and discuss these concerns, in order to try and come to an agreement on these areas. These subcommittees meet, discuss, and reach an agreement before we go back to the bargaining table, to discuss and try to reach an agreement on the entire contract.
We have agreed to dates for these subcommittees to meet and look forward to this aspect of the negotiations to begin next month.

AFSCME Family Scholarship

AFSCME Family Scholarship

Knowledge Is Power

Looking for financial support for college? Each year the AFSCME Family Scholarship Program provides $2,000 scholarships to high school seniors that will be renewed for $2,000 each year for a maximum of four years, provided the student remains enrolled in a full-time course of study. The scholarship may be used for any field of study.

Are You Eligible?

To be eligible, you must:

Be a graduating high school senior whose parent, legal guardian or financially responsible grandparent is a full dues-paying AFSCME member; At the time the scholarship is awarded, be enrolled in a full-time degree program either at an accredited four-year institution or at a two-year institution that will transfer credits to a four-year institution; and Have taken the SAT or the ACT.

How to Apply

To apply, you must meet all eligibility requirements as identified above. Make sure your complete application, with all support documentation (essay, transcripts, letters of recommendations, SAT or ACT scores, proof of AFSCME membership, etc.), is mailed together in one envelope, POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 31, to:

AFSCME Family Scholarship Program Attention: AFSCME Advantage 1625 L Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036 Download the application now.

If you have any questions, please call us at (202) 429-5080.